Black and Blue Review

Black and Blue Review

Carolina Panthers News and Coverage for the Digital Age

Greg Olsen One of Three Finalists For Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

The Carolina Panthers aren’t playing in the NFC Championship Game like they were a year ago, but they did get some good news during halftime of the Falcons’ title tilt with the Packers.

Panthers tight end Greg Olsen was named a finalist for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. Cardinals receiver Larry Fitzgerald and Giants quarterback Eli Manning are the two other finalists.

After linebacker Thomas Davis had won the award two years ago, Olsen was the Panthers’ nominee last season. But he wasn’t a finalist for the honor that eventually went to former 49ers and current Lions wideout Anquan Boldin.

This year’s winner will be announced during NFL Honors, the league’s award show, on Feb. 4. That winner will earn $500,000 for a charity of his choice. The other two finalists will each receive a $125,000 donation.

Earlier this month, Olsen won $25,000 to benefit Receptions for Research in the Man of the Year Charity Challenge.

Share this post

Posted on Categories News